Welcome to Harlingen - San Benito Metropolitan Planning Organization.


The Harlingen-San Benito MPO is the regional transportation planning organization responsible for all modes of transportation.  Our website will provide you with pertinent information that directly relates to our MPO area. 

Member Cities

  City of Harlingen                                              City of Rio Hondo     

        City of San Benito                                            City of La Feria                 

City of Los Indios                                              City of Santa Rosa   

    City of Palm Valley                                          Town of Combes          

                         City of Primera                                                  City of Mercedes (Ex-Offical)    

Every metropolitan area with a population of more than 50,000 persons must have a designated Metropolitan Planning Organization to qualify to federal highway or transit funds assistance.  The Harlingen-San Benito MPO area is composed of nine member cities listed above.  It is important that the MPO membership is made of locally elected officials of the cities and counties within the urbanized area.

The United States Department of Transportation (USDOT) relies on the MPO to ensure that highway and transit projects that use federal funds are products of a credible planning process and meet local priorities.  USDOT will not approve federal funding for urban highway and transit projects unless they are on the MPO's program.  Thus, the MPO's role is to develop and maintain the necessary transportation plans for the area to assure federal funds support locally developed plans.


Mayor Ben Gomez
City of San Benito, Chair 

Mayor Chris Boswell        
City of Harlingen, Vice Chair 

Mayor Jaime Gonzalez
City of Los Indios 

Mayor George Rivera
City of Palm Valley

 Mayor R.Dave Kusch
City of Primera

Mayor Gustavo Olivares
City of Rio Hondo

Mayor Olga Maldonado
City of La Feria

Mayor Andres Contreras
City of Santa Rosa

Mayor Mark Sanchez
Town of Combes

Manuel De La Rosa, City Manager
City of San Benito

Dan Serna, City Manager
City of Harlingen

David Garza
Cameron County Commissioner    Precinct 3

Gus Ruiz
Cameron County Commissioner Precinct 4

Pedro "Pete" Alvarez, P.E.  
Pharr District Engineer 


"Working Together for a better Mobility"